You can be your own hero

Credit goes to MDP Images

I’m the one on the right! Credit goes to MDP Images

I know, the title is incredibly cheesy, but if you’d told me a year ago I’d skate a roller derby bout in front of a crowd I wouldn’t have believed you. I wrote this post a year and four months ago, and shortly after that started skating with the Norfolk Brawds. It’s taken hard work, stress, sweat, tears and a lot of encouragement, but I did it!

The bout I skated in was a mixed opener, where new skaters from around the country can get experience skating in front of a crowd. It was such a good experience and everyone was excited and enthusiastic, and we won! The bout was quite close until we had a few power jams in our favour towards the end.

Here are a few more photos, I think in future I need to get a cooler looking helmet and not wear blue lipstick and a blue gum shield!

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Photo thanks to Sugar Shark

Leave a Reply

